SACS Accreditation

Office of the Provost


Regional accreditation is…

  • Important to the maintenance of our reputation
  • Important to the transferability of earned UT credit hours to other institutions
  • Essential for the acceptance of our students to graduate and professional schools elsewhere
  • Necessary for access to federal student financial aid and to federal grants

Fundamentally, the SACSCOC standards are basic measures against which we can examine our institution and make improvements where needed.

The institutional effectiveness standards are perhaps the most important, as they ask us to engage in the continual improvement of institutional quality. They ask us to be data driven; to review systematically our mission, goals, and outcomes as an institution; and for all our programs (academic programs at college and departmental levels, general education program, student life offices, student support services, administrative support services, research, and community/public service) to do the same.

UT was last reaffirmed by SACSCOC in 2015 when it submitted its Compliance Report. We submitted a Fifth-Year Interim Report in 2010.

Contact us

Mary Albrecht, associate vice provost:
527 Andy Holt Tower
1331 Circle Park Drive
Knoxville, TN 37996-0152



The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.